Three Children Caught Up In Ireland’s Land War

Brian Gallagher
Winds of Change

In 1880’s Ireland, with the Land War raging and evictions and boycotting overturning everyday life, three children from very different background form a secret – and dangerous – alliance.


This edition is not available yet.
Published: March

Electronic Book (ePub):

This edition is not available yet.
Published: March

This edition is not available yet.
Published: March

272 pages
196x130 mm

Also available as an Electronic Book (ePub)

This edition is not available yet.
Published: March


Winds of Change explores the challenges faced by a range of characters against the backdrop of Land League agitation, evictions and boycotting in 1880’s Ireland.  The story is told through the eyes of three Irish children: Clara Parkinson, Molly O’Hara, and Aidan Daly, whose contrasting circumstances result in differing responses to the unfolding turmoil.

Despite their differing backgrounds, Clara, Aidan, and Molly become friends – a friendship that in the tinderbox climate of the Land War brings real physical dangers.  Meanwhile Molly has to grapple with her divided loyalties when her father takes part in evictions with the Royal Irish Constabulary.

Interspersed with time-slip elements from the present day, with student Garret Byrne exploring his family’s past, the story is set during the pivotal period of late 1880 to early 1881, a time when the face of Ireland was changing forever, with dramatic – and sometimes shocking – consequences for our cast of characters.

BRIAN GALLAGHER was born in Dublin. He is a full-time writer whose plays and short stories have been produced in Ireland, Britain and Canada. He has worked extensively in radio and television, writing many dramas and documentaries.

Brian is the author of four adult novels, and his other books of historical fiction for young readers are One Good Turn and Friend or Foe – both set in Dublin in 1916; Stormclouds, which takes place in Northern Ireland during the turbulent summer of 1969; Secrets and Shadows, a spy novel that begins with the North Strand bombings during the Second World War; Taking Sides, about the Irish Civil War; Across the Divide, set during the 1913 Lockout, Arrivals, a time-slip novel set between modern and early-twentieth-century Ontario, and Pawns, set during Ireland’s War of Independence. Brian lives with his family in Dublin. His latest book, Spies, is a sequel to Pawns.

Find out more about Brian's books at 

Your comment or review

Other books by this author
  • Across the Divide
  • Taking Sides
  • Secrets and Shadows
  • Stormclouds

You may also like
  • The Kidds of Summerhill
  • Lily Steps Up
  • Michael Collins
  • Chasing Ghosts