Written by
Judi Curtin
Illustrated by
Woody Fox
Eva's Journey

Eva is the girl with everything. Her parents throw her lavish parties in their luxury home, and her friends admire her designer clothes and manicured nails. But Eva’s world is turned upside down when her father loses his job.

Add to Basket
E-Book (ePub):
Add to Basket
272 pages
196x130 mm

Also available as an E-Book (ePub)


Rich, spoilt, high-maintenance Eva Gordon likes fancy, sophisticated things so when her parents sell their sell their holiday home and their expensive car Eva can’t understand why.

But when Eva’s dad loses his job and she has to move house and change schools, she realises life has changed for good. She’s determined to hate her new life, until a chance visit to a fortune teller gives her the idea that doing good may help her to get her old life back. Eva (with the help of her friend Victoria) starts to help all around her, whether they want it or not!

The story of Eva’s Journey from spoilt princess to pretty cool girl!

Judi Curtin is the best-selling author of the ‘Alice and Megan’ series, the 'Eva' series. several other books. Judi's new series, beginning with Time After Time, is about Beth and Molly, accidental time-travelling best friends. Judi Curtin won the Irish Book Award Senior 2017 for Stand By Me.

Woody Fox has been a children’s illustrator for 30 years specialising in all things animal related and anything funny. He’s worked for most of the major publishers in Britain as well as many abroad and also had successful cards ranges and clothes designs.

He also has been a willow sculptor for the last 12 years, again specialising in animals which are his passion: you can see his scuptures at www.woodyfoxwillow.co.uk. He lives in Devon, England with his partner and two black cats  surrounded by trees and wonderful wildlife.

'makes you want to read more, and I could never put it down'


'a charming, topical story about what really matters in life'



The Farmers Journal

'Eight to 10-year-olds can really take off into the worlds of their imaginations, and, in this age group, fiction really comes into its own. An author with a huge following is, of course, Judi Curtin, whose Eva's Journey, her first book after the Alice an

Sunday Independent

'another cracker about friends and family from Limerick’s writing legend'

Irish Independent

'I think this is one of Judi’s best books yet ... I finished it in under a day, it was so good ... Overall I thought the book was fantastic ... Fabulous book, everyone should read it.'

Bookster Reviews

'Clear text, plenty of lively dialogue and lots of genuinely funny moments make for a very enjoyable read. It should provide heartwarming inspiration for many a ten-to-twelve-year-old girl.'

Books Ireland

'After only a few sugar-loaded pages, the reader is just longing for the smile to be wiped off her (Eva’s) professionally painted lips - just to get her taken down a peg or two. And the reader is not disappointed.'

Books Ireland

'This is a refreshing kind of book and would give children the idea to make the best of what you have got. It’s an "always look on the bright side of life" kind of book!'

InTouch Magazine

'a book that is very relevant to the times we now live in'

InTouch Magazine

'a great book ... I recommend it for ages 9 and up'

Inis Magazine

'an exciting and enjoyable storyline ... an interesting and enticing read'

Girl's Thoughts


Reader Reviews

I love this book! I think Judi Curtin is a brilliant author!

Kaya on 26th July 2011


Sarah on 1st April 2011

I think Eva's Journey is the best book I've ever read. I read it all in one day. It is a great book and I definitely would give it 10/10. Judi Curtin, you are the best author in the world!

Caoimhe on 10th January 2011

A modern day fairy tale, 'Eva's Journey' charts Eva's progress as she learns that stuff, while nice, is not what makes life worthwhile. The friendship she begins with the odd girl in her class makes her new life more bearable, and the steadfast friend fr

Aoife on 5th October 2010

Your comment or review

Teaching Resources: free to view and download

  • pdf-logoDownload Teaching Guides: Summary and discussion points for three Eva books by Peter Heaney

Rights Held
World, all languages

Rights Sold

Other books by this author
  • Alice Again
  • Alice in the Middle
  • Don't Ask Alice
  • Bonjour Alice

You may also like
  • The Kidds of Summerhill
  • Lily Steps Up
  • The Boldness of Betty
  • Alice and Megan Series