Ireland’s War of Independence: when the truth can get you killed

Gerard Whelan
A Winter of Spies

Sarah becomes involved in spying for Michael Collins during the War of Independence.

Add to Basket
Electronic Book (ePub):
Add to Basket
192 pages
196x130 mm

Also available as an Electronic Book (ePub)


A sequel to The Guns of Easter which won the Eilís Dillon Memorial Award and a Bisto Merit Award.

This books tells the exciting story of Sarah (Jimmy's young sister) and their family who are involved in the spying activities of Michael Collins during the War of Independence. Sarah, a young eleven-year-old, cannot figure out why her family is so neutral towards the war and why everybody is so secretive. A strong rebel herself, she wants to do her bit for Ireland. Then she finds out the terrible truth - and she too carries secrets which could cost her her life.

Gerard Whelan was born in Enniscorthy, County Wexford, and has lived and worked in several European countries. After some time living in Dublin, he has returned to live in his native Wexford. He is the author of many books for children and a multiple award-winner. His first novel, The Guns of Easter, won the Eilís Dillon Memorial Award for first-time writers. Dream Invader later won the Bisto Book of the Year Award. He has also been shortlisted for the Reading Association of Ireland awards. Gerard is also the author of A Winter of Spies and Out of Nowhere.

'excellent, a good story related straight as good stories deserve, enjoyable at any age'

Books Ireland

'thrilling ... adventures set against a completely realised period city, and Sarah is a terrific heroine'

RTE Guide

'The picture of a city and a period characterised by duplicity and deception is excellently portrayed, as is Sarah herself, a remarkable feisty creation'

The Irish Times

'An exciting adventure ... a story which will linger in the mind'

Best Books
Your comment or review

Teaching Resources: free to view and download

  • pdf-logoDownload RBFS: Teaching ideas for sixth class from O'Brien Reading Programme

Rights Held
World, all languages

Other books by this author
  • Out of Nowhere
  • War Children
  • The Guns of Easter
  • Dream Invader

You may also like
  • Lily Steps Up
  • The Boldness of Betty
  • Alice and Megan Series
  • Gaelic Spirit